Why We’re Here Is Simple

The mission and objectives of the District are to strengthen and preserve Rockport’s unique reputation as a significant artistic community and be a resource for residents and visitors. The District’s goals are focused on continued economic development through marketing the many facets of tourism within the District.

Great Blue Heron at Water St Rockport TX

Rockport Cultural Art District Goals

  • Enhance economic development of the downtown in Rockport’s Cultural Arts District through marketing the unique cultural heritage of Rockport
  • Participate in value-added activities that leverage the mission of partner non-profits, visual, performing, culinary and literary artists
  • Create an identity for RCAD which builds on the distinct nature of the district- the Harbor front, historic downtown, individual cultural institutions and natural environment of the bay- and results in attracting new visitors, creative entrepreneurs and residents to Rockport in revitalizing our community
  • Expand the awareness of Rockport Cultural Arts District as a central neighborhood of the Rockport-Fulton and Aransas County region which has been a major Texas coastal resource since the 1800’s

Contact Information
Mail: P.O. Box 2434, Rockport, TX 78381-2434
email: hannah@rockportculturalartsdistrict.com


Meeting Information
The Rockport Cultural Art District Board meets every 3rd Thursday of the month at 9:30 AM at the Aransas County Navigation District, 911 Navigation Circle, Rockport Texas 78382. Anyone is welcome to attend the meeting of a 501c3 corporation.

Board of Directors

  • President Jennifer Day
  • Vice President Warren Hassinger
  • Treasurer Nick Johnson
  • Secretary Debra Strothman
  • Monica Clark
  • Jim Elder
  • Deborah Karowski
  • Michelle Simmons
  • Connie Garcia
  • Pam Heard
  • Donnie Garcia
  • Michell Mcmahon

Advisory Board

  • Paula Dean
  • Joellen Simmons
  • David Swartout
  • Stan Armstrong
  • Malcolm Diekow
  • Susan Wax

City Liaison

  • JD Villa, Mayor Pro Tem

Executive Director

  • Hannah Miller
Events Rockport
texas commission on the arts

The Texas Commission on the Arts (TCA) recognizes that a thriving creative sector is a powerful economic development asset. We designate cultural districts as special zones that harness the power of cultural resources to stimulate economic development and community revitalization. These districts can become focal points for generating businesses, attracting tourists, stimulating cultural development and fostering civic pride.

Texas Commission on the Arts

Our Community Sponsors

City of Rockport Logo
Town of Fulton Logo
Aransas County Logo
Texas Commission on the Arts


Festivals & Fun Events


Discover Our Habitat Wildlife


Capture Our Culture Art


Explore Our Shore Directory